[James D. Bradley] ebook The China Mirage free



10 thoughts on “The China Mirage

  1. says:

    The China Mirage an enlightening and thought provoking book going behind the chimera curtain of AsianAmerican relations in search of truth This is the sort of historicalpolitical expose that every American citiz

  2. says:

    One of the conspiracy theories popular on the Far Right is that Franklin D Roosevelt engineered the Japanese attack on Pearl Harbor to ensnare the US in World War II Like so many Right Wing fantasies this story is nearly 180 degrees distant from the truth OK many Left Wing fantasies are tooThe power of the China LobbyAs James Bradley makes clear in The China Mirage The Hidden History of American Disaster in Asia FDR stea

  3. says:

    An aggravating if valuable book Bradley has improved since Imperial Cruise but his continuing grudge against the Roosevelt family colours and weakens the narrative he is presenting This is not to excuse the narrow minded arrogant and feckless policies the two administrations could produce on China they were legion A laudable focus in later chapters on the expelled China Hands especially Service and Stilwell A

  4. says:

    Coming in I wanted to really like this book I was unsuccessfulThe China Mirage get used to that term Bradley uses it a lot is pretty close to a screed Bradley documents US fascination with China and implies that if not for that World War II with Japan would not have been fought Never mind that the Japanese had drawn up plans to fight the US which they found necessary back in the 30sThis book is about the opening of China and how it was a

  5. says:

    I've long placed Chiang Kai Shek along with Mao and Cixi as the incompetent triumvirate that made China the mess it is today; I've a

  6. says:

    The glowing reviews aside this is a somewhat shallow book Worthy of note though is the importance and relative inaccessibility for readers of Opium Wars and Russo Japanese and First Sion Japanese War The Boxer Rebellion is publishe

  7. says:

    There should be a warning placed on all government buildings urging US policy makers to stop trying to export the American way of life elsewhere This practice responsible for some of worst policy failures in this and previous century inevitably leads to failure Ira Afghanistan Southeast Asia and now in this book ChinaJame

  8. says:

    I was fascinated by the author's observation that every US failure of policy in China the Pacific or Asia was rooted in the Harvard educated advisor sitting at the presidents elbow That's uite a track record Still this book is replete with so many historical errors that I have to uestion either veracity of the author's research or his intellectual integrity He completely misunderstands the sources of the Korean

  9. says:

    A book that will change your fundamental assumptions about the world we live in It's a revelation in some respects Bradley makes the case that Vietnam and Korea wouldn't have happened if we hadn't been hoodwinked by Japanese and Chinese propagandists and our own racial biases towards Asia It all started with the Roosevelts Teddy Roosevelt created the monster that was Japan and FDR refused to listen to reality about Ch

  10. says:

    Wow This book opened my eyes to the fact that WW2 in the Pacific was created by the ignorance of the FDR administration and lobbying by the China Lobby which was ironically funded by American China Aid dollars Due to that corruptio

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

FREE READ ´ MZINES.CO.UK ´ James D. Bradley

From the bestselling author of Flags of our Fathers Flyboys and The Imperial Cruise a spellbinding history of turbulent US China relations from the 19th century to World War II and Mao's ascent In each of his books James Bradley has exposed the hidden truths behind America's engagement in Asia Now come. The China Mirage an enlightening and thought provoking book going behind the chimera curtain of AsianAmerican relations in search of truth This is the sort of historicalpolitical expose that every American citizen should take time to read and comparatively ponder thinking not to repeat war inducing blind sighted mistakes of the past that could and did leave cripplingrippling national regional and global effects A Lie gets around the world before the truth has a chance to get its pants on Winston Churchill Nothing in this world happens in a vacuum Every action spawns infinite chains of actionreactions And when Bradley contemplated his father s commentary and thoughts on the events leading up to the outbreak of the Second World War on through Vietnam he dug a little deeper a lot deeper looking for the pebbles that set off war ripples shrouded in illusion There must not and cannot be any conflict estrangement or misunderstanding between the Chinese people and America Mao ZedongMisunderstandings intentional and unintentional were plenty Much of which according to Bradley s extensive research germinated from within the White House specifically both Roosevelt offices and their advisers as well as upper echelon financiers and Ivy league back scratchers where the right hand deceived the left hand and vice versa I was uite taken aback by Henry Luce s extensive role propagating the China illusion through his news magazine Time His simple to read articles with snappy photos weren t always truthful and objective when it came to China as neither he nor any of his writers had firsthand knowledge of the vast Asian country let alone knew anyone of Chinese heritage other than Mayling Soong as Chinese immigration into America was prohibited But I really shouldn t have been shocked by the power of print to sway public opinion often erroneously It still happens today Truth and ethics aren t generally synonymous with news reporting in any format Henry Luce bought into the same smoke and mirrors of Mayling Soong and her puppet husband Chiang Kai Shek as the Roosevelts did then duped millions of morally astute Americans into dropping thousands upon thousands of hard earned dollars into offering plates across America in support of a humanitarian cause that never truly existed as presented Misunderstood and misdirected Of course misunderstandings lead to estrangement America s one sided love affair with Mayling and her Oscar worthy Christian charades and the constant infusion of money and support thrown her way alienated China s other leader Mao Zedong who also extended his hand of friendship to the US in hopes of bettering the plight of China s people especially the common people the villagers and farmers who were ostracized tortured and killed by the Soongs as well as being overtaken in the North by Japan further solidifying a lovehate triangle of ideologyagendaexpansion estrangementsEstrangement uickly then transitioned into wars fueled by thirsty egos hungry pockets imperial mentalities cultural divides misunderstandings religion forked tongue promises oil embargoes political agendas Bradley does an exceptional job of connecting the mirage busting dots from the Opium Wars which shockingly many American institutions were founded upon the Perkins Institute namely one to WWII and on through the Vietnam War and the present The China Mirage makes for fascinating and contemplative reading Packed with an abundance of historical and expository information it took a considerable amount of time for me to get through it all Not because it was overly tedious or dull Rather I was so intrigued by new andor long forgotten information I found myself researching key peopleeventstopics in further depth For the most part Bradley writes objectively However there were times I felt he was presenting facts that were aimed towards personifying his personal biasesideologies Perhaps it would have seemed less tilted had Bradley given eual backgrounddevelopmentideology time to Mao s shortcomings as he did with Mayling Soong and Chiang Kai Shek Mao s finer ualities such as being against opium use prostitution child slavery and compulsory marriage were strongly emphasized Yet his less than stellar attributes such as forced labor and executions were not eually disclosed Overall though as mentioned above The China Mirage The Hidden History of American Disaster in Asia is an enlightening and thought provoking book highly recommended to individuals interested in American history politics global relations media studies war andor psychology religion and sociology My Sincerest appreciation to James Bradley Little Brown and Company subsidiary of Hachette Book Group and any other responsible entitiesindividuals for awarding me a free ARC copy of The China Mirage through the Goodreads First Reads programFour strong noteworthy stars

REVIEW The China Mirage

The China Mirage

S his most engrossing work yet Beginning in the 1850s Bradley introduces us to the prominent Americans who made their fortunes in the China opium trade As they good Christians all profitably addicted millions American missionaries arrived promising salvation for those who adopted Western ways And that. I ve long placed Chiang Kai Shek along with Mao and Cixi as the incompetent triumvirate that made China the mess it is today I ve also long been confounded by Taiwanese and Americans who fail to recognize Chiang for the damn fool he was After reading this book that disconnect finally makes sense This book also helps me realize I m not simply a grump for thinking most US China Watchers are charlatans and most DC politicians making China decisions are clueless in fact that has been the sad reality of US China relations since the Opium Wars and will probably get us into trouble again real soon This is a must read for aspiring China Hands or anyone who fancies themselves a China Expert if only for the humbling and cautionary value

FREE READ ´ MZINES.CO.UK ´ James D. Bradley

Was just the beginning From drug dealer Warren Delano to his grandson Franklin Delano Roosevelt from the port of Hong Kong to the towers of Princeton University from the era of Appomattox to the age of the A Bomb The China Mirage explores a difficult century that defines US Chinese relations to this da. I was fascinated by the author s observation that every US failure of policy in China the Pacific or Asia was rooted in the Harvard educated advisor sitting at the presidents elbow That s uite a track record Still this book is replete with so many historical errors that I have to uestion either veracity of the author s research or his intellectual integrity He completely misunderstands the sources of the Korean War mischaracterizing it as a small local civil war The record of discussion between Kim Stalin and Mao is fairly detailed and complete on this point yet absent in his analysis His conjecture that war with Japan could have been avoided had we not embargoed oil resides among silliest of all blame the victim analyses He also refers to military hardware developed in the late 1950s as playing a combat role in the 2nd World War In sum he misses both big and little points by such a wide margin that one can t help but wonder about the balance of his effort